Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1016969001195405313
6 added 103 characters in body
source | link

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119), I have the Pack Tactics racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

(also thank you to whoever cleaned this up and added the quotes and made it look all nice and pretty)

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119), I have the Pack Tactics racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119), I have the Pack Tactics racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

(also thank you to whoever cleaned this up and added the quotes and made it look all nice and pretty)

5 added DNDBeyond link and page number
source | link

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119), I have the "Pack Tactics" racial traitPack Tactics racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold, I have the "Pack Tactics" racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119), I have the Pack Tactics racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

4 adjusted title to reflect question in body; added "racial-traits", "spells", and "attack" tags; clarified wording; fixed formatting; added DNDBeyond links
source | link

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with Find Familiarfind familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to Shocking Graspcast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per Find Familiarfind familiar)...:

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...except myExcept, as a kobold, I have the "Pack Tactics" racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll includes considering Pact Tacticsis made with advantage if I have an ally within 5'5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just Pack Tactics itselfget advantage from its own presence?

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with Find Familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to Shocking Grasp some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per Find Familiar)...

...except my attack roll includes considering Pact Tactics if I have an ally within 5', and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just Pack Tactics itself?

Suppose I'm playing a kobold sorcerer with find familiar by way of ritual caster or a dip into lore bard. It's a lovely overcast day and I decide that what I'd really like to do with my turn is to cast shocking grasp on some poor bastard. Since I am a tiny, delicate and a bit cowardly kobold, I send my familiar to deliver the good news and bad vibes. This of course requires an attack roll, specifically my attack roll (as per find familiar):

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

...Except, as a kobold, I have the "Pack Tactics" racial trait:

You have advantage on an attack roll against a creature if at least one of your allies is within 5 feet of the creature and the ally isn’t incapacitated.

My attack roll is made with advantage if I have an ally within 5 feet of the target, and my familiar is pretty allied. But since it's my familiar attacking, did it just get advantage from its own presence?

3 adjusted title to reflect question in body; added "racial-traits", "spells", and "attack" tags
| link
2 deleted 155 characters in body; edited title
source | link
1
source | link