The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.
    Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1093887314714083330
2 clarified wording; edited tags
source | link

How attackingdo attacks with an underwater target from differentand an attacker on land-water works (and the reverse) work?

The Underwater Combat rules on attacking saysstate:

When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the attack roll unless the weapon is a dagger, javelin, shortsword, spear, or trident.

A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon's normal range. Even against a target within normal range, the attack roll has disadvantage unless the weapon is a crossbow, a net, or a weapon that is thrown like a javelin (including a spear, trident, or dart).

When it says underwater combat, I assume this is true while both that attacker and target are underwater, but it seems the rule didn'tdoesn't seem to explicitly define whether this rule is triggered when:

  1. Both are underwater
  2. Attacker is underwater, target is on land
  3. Target is underwater, attacker is on land

Scenario 1 obviously triggersfollows the underwater combat rules, but how about 2 and 3? Do both of them triggerfollow the underwater combat rulerules?

How attacking target from different land-water works?

Underwater Combat rules on attacking says

When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the attack roll unless the weapon is a dagger, javelin, shortsword, spear, or trident.

A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon's normal range. Even against a target within normal range, the attack roll has disadvantage unless the weapon is a crossbow, a net, or a weapon that is thrown like a javelin (including a spear, trident, or dart).

When it says underwater combat, I assume this is true while both attacker and target are underwater, but it seems the rule didn't explicitly define whether this rule is triggered when:

  1. Both underwater
  2. Attacker underwater, target on land
  3. Target underwater, attacker on land

Scenario 1 obviously triggers underwater combat rules, but how about 2 and 3? Do both of them trigger underwater combat rule?

How do attacks with an underwater target and an attacker on land (and the reverse) work?

The Underwater Combat rules on attacking state:

When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the attack roll unless the weapon is a dagger, javelin, shortsword, spear, or trident.

A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon's normal range. Even against a target within normal range, the attack roll has disadvantage unless the weapon is a crossbow, a net, or a weapon that is thrown like a javelin (including a spear, trident, or dart).

When it says underwater combat, I assume this is true while both that attacker and target are underwater, but the rule doesn't seem to explicitly define whether this rule is triggered when:

  1. Both are underwater
  2. Attacker is underwater, target is on land
  3. Target is underwater, attacker is on land

Scenario 1 obviously follows the underwater combat rules, but how about 2 and 3? Do both of them follow the underwater combat rules?

1
source | link

How attacking target from different land-water works?

Underwater Combat rules on attacking says

When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the attack roll unless the weapon is a dagger, javelin, shortsword, spear, or trident.

A ranged weapon attack automatically misses a target beyond the weapon's normal range. Even against a target within normal range, the attack roll has disadvantage unless the weapon is a crossbow, a net, or a weapon that is thrown like a javelin (including a spear, trident, or dart).

When it says underwater combat, I assume this is true while both attacker and target are underwater, but it seems the rule didn't explicitly define whether this rule is triggered when:

  1. Both underwater
  2. Attacker underwater, target on land
  3. Target underwater, attacker on land

Scenario 1 obviously triggers underwater combat rules, but how about 2 and 3? Do both of them trigger underwater combat rule?