4 edited body
source | link

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Unoffical guidance from Jeremy Crawford (5e's lead rules designer), which some may consider authoratativeauthoritative, agrees with this interpretation (credit to V2Blast for providing this quote):

"When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless a feature tells you not to.

So far, so good.

But, does this rule for two-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus action, confuse matters?

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

Dont worry - this rule can be safely ignored. Wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not the same as two weapon fighting, thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant to your situation.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Unoffical guidance from Jeremy Crawford (5e's lead rules designer), which some may consider authoratative, agrees with this interpretation (credit to V2Blast for providing this quote):

"When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless a feature tells you not to.

So far, so good.

But, does this rule for two-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus action, confuse matters?

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

Dont worry - this rule can be safely ignored. Wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not the same as two weapon fighting, thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant to your situation.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Unoffical guidance from Jeremy Crawford (5e's lead rules designer), which some may consider authoritative, agrees with this interpretation (credit to V2Blast for providing this quote):

"When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless a feature tells you not to.

So far, so good.

But, does this rule for two-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus action, confuse matters?

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

Dont worry - this rule can be safely ignored. Wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not the same as two weapon fighting, thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant to your situation.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

3 added 544 characters in body
source | link

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Unoffical guidance from Jeremy Crawford (5e's lead rules designer), which some may consider authoratative, agrees with this interpretation (credit to V2Blast for providing this quote):

"When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless a feature tells you not to.

So far, so good.

But, does this rule for Twotwo-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus action, which I think may be confusing you:confuse matters?

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

Dont worry - this rule can be safely ignored. However, wieldingWielding a double bladed scimitar, is not the same as two weapon fighting thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant here., thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant to your situation.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Two-weapon fighting also grants a bonus action, which I think may be confusing you:

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

However, wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not two weapon fighting thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant here.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Unoffical guidance from Jeremy Crawford (5e's lead rules designer), which some may consider authoratative, agrees with this interpretation (credit to V2Blast for providing this quote):

"When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless a feature tells you not to.

So far, so good.

But, does this rule for two-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus action, confuse matters?

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

Dont worry - this rule can be safely ignored. Wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not the same as two weapon fighting, thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant to your situation.

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

2 added 67 characters in body
source | link

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

In 5e twoTwo-weapon fighting also grants a bonus action, which I think may be confusing you:

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

What you are doingHowever, wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not two weapon fighting thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant here. 

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

In 5e two-weapon fighting also grants a bonus action, which I think may be confusing you:

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

What you are doing, wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not two weapon fighting thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant here. Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack.

You can add your ability modifier to damage from the bonus action attack

You can add your ability modifier here because nothing tells you that you cannot.

Two-weapon fighting also grants a bonus action, which I think may be confusing you:

You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

However, wielding a double bladed scimitar, is not two weapon fighting thus two-weapon fighting rules are completely irrelevant here. 

Add your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any normal melee weapon attack - your damage roll with this bonus action will thus be 2d4 + 3.

1
source | link