Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1200746461165690880
Post Undeleted by Exempt-Medic
Post Deleted by Exempt-Medic
edited title
Link
Exempt-Medic
  • 67.8k
  • 8
  • 240
  • 450

Can What happens when a multiclass BarbarianWild Magic Surge would have a Sorcerer/SorcererBarbarian multiclass cast a spell while raging if a spell cast is rolled on the Wild Magic Surge table?

Source Link
Exempt-Medic
  • 67.8k
  • 8
  • 240
  • 450

Can a multiclass Barbarian/Sorcerer cast a spell while raging if a spell cast is rolled on the Wild Magic Surge table?

I was making a Barbarian/Wild Magic Sorcerer multi-class and realized the following scenario may occur:

  1. Rolling a 01-02 on the Wild Magic Surge Table:

Roll on this table at the start of each of your turns for the next minute, ignoring this result on subsequent rolls [...]

- Player's Handbook (page 104)

  1. Enter a rage which has the following stipulation:

[...] If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging [...]

- Player's Handbook (page 48)

  1. Roll something on the Wild Magic Surge Table that causes you to cast a spell, for example:

09-10 You cast magic missile as a 5th-level spell.

- Player's Handbook (page 104)

Does the Barbarian's rage prevent you from casting magic missile or do you cast magic missile even though you are raging?


Note that the following questions establish that when Wild Magic Surge calls for a spell to be cast the Sorcerer is the one casting it: