We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
2 Shifted the sections
source | link

Would you consider this staff to still be a 'staff implement'/'staff weapon' in Knife form? For example, if you have the [Staff Expertise] Feat which increases the range of weapon attack powers by 1. Would you say it still apply in Knife form?

OuchStaff of Knives seems like it was designed with Sorcerers in mind. Adventurer's Vault 2 followed closely on the heels of PHB2, and at the time, Sorcerers were the only class who wielded both Daggers and Staffs. Monks didn't exist until PHB3 was released the following year.

Transforming "from a staff into a dagger" mechanically does not mean very much, so this needs some interpretation, but I believe the intent is clear: the item loses its Implement (Staff) line, and gains a tough oneWeapon: Dagger line instead. The Sorcerer can still benefit from it in this form and use it as an implement for spellcasting. When in Dagger form, it's treated as a Dagger and all Dagger-related feats and bonuses apply. When it's in Staff form, it's treated as a Staff Implement and all Staff-related feats and bonuses apply.

This power, as written, is unclear. No wonder you're confused.

D&D 4e has a fairly strict approach to mechanics: they rule, regardless of how much sense they make, and powers have to be fairly strictly and clearly written to indicate what part of the mechanics they effect. The transformation power here is not written to the standards D&D 4e requires, and is unclear.

"Dagger" refers to any Magic Dagger with the Weapon: Dagger line. Non-magic daggers are just "simple one-handed melee weapons"simple one-handed melee weapons, and notthat isn't mechanically the same thing as a Dagger.

This item's power never says anything about this item gaining the Weapon: Dagger type, or what happens to the Staff (Implement) line when it transforms "from a staff into a dagger". Is it still technically a Staff (Implement), and can a Wizard still wield it? Is it now a Dagger in addition to a staffStaff, or instead of one? A well-written power would describe precisely what happens to the item's mechanics, and thus what weapon/implement types it gains and loses - this one doesn't, unfortunately.

This needs interpretation

Staff of Knives seems like it was designed with Sorcerers in mind. Adventurer's Vault 2 followed closely on the heels of PHB2, and at the time, Sorcerers were the only class who wielded both Daggers and Staffs. Monks didn't exist until PHB3 was released the following year.

Transforming "from a staff into a dagger" mechanically does not mean very much, but I believe it would mean this: the item loses its Implement (Staff) line, and gains a Weapon: Dagger line instead. The Sorcerer can still benefit from it in this form and use it as an implement for spellcasting. When in Dagger form, it's treated as a Dagger and all Dagger-related feats and bonuses apply. When it's in Staff form, it's treated as a Staff Implement and all Staff-related feats and bonuses apply.

Would you consider this staff to still be a 'staff implement'/'staff weapon' in Knife form? For example, if you have the [Staff Expertise] Feat which increases the range of weapon attack powers by 1. Would you say it still apply in Knife form?

Ouch, this is a tough one. D&D 4e has a fairly strict approach to mechanics: they rule, regardless of how much sense they make, and powers have to be fairly strictly and clearly written to indicate what part of the mechanics they effect. The transformation power here is not written to the standards D&D 4e requires, and is unclear.

"Dagger" refers to any Magic Dagger with the Weapon: Dagger line. Non-magic daggers are just "simple one-handed melee weapons", and not mechanically a Dagger.

This item's power never says anything about this item gaining the Weapon: Dagger type, or what happens to the Staff (Implement) line when it transforms "from a staff into a dagger". Is it still technically a Staff (Implement), and can a Wizard still wield it? Is it now a Dagger in addition to a staff, or instead of one? A well-written power would describe precisely what happens to the item's mechanics, and thus what weapon/implement types it gains and loses - this one doesn't, unfortunately.

This needs interpretation

Staff of Knives seems like it was designed with Sorcerers in mind. Adventurer's Vault 2 followed closely on the heels of PHB2, and at the time, Sorcerers were the only class who wielded both Daggers and Staffs. Monks didn't exist until PHB3 was released the following year.

Transforming "from a staff into a dagger" mechanically does not mean very much, but I believe it would mean this: the item loses its Implement (Staff) line, and gains a Weapon: Dagger line instead. The Sorcerer can still benefit from it in this form and use it as an implement for spellcasting. When in Dagger form, it's treated as a Dagger and all Dagger-related feats and bonuses apply. When it's in Staff form, it's treated as a Staff Implement and all Staff-related feats and bonuses apply.

Would you consider this staff to still be a 'staff implement'/'staff weapon' in Knife form? For example, if you have the [Staff Expertise] Feat which increases the range of weapon attack powers by 1. Would you say it still apply in Knife form?

Staff of Knives seems like it was designed with Sorcerers in mind. Adventurer's Vault 2 followed closely on the heels of PHB2, and at the time, Sorcerers were the only class who wielded both Daggers and Staffs. Monks didn't exist until PHB3 was released the following year.

Transforming "from a staff into a dagger" mechanically does not mean very much, so this needs some interpretation, but I believe the intent is clear: the item loses its Implement (Staff) line, and gains a Weapon: Dagger line instead. The Sorcerer can still benefit from it in this form and use it as an implement for spellcasting. When in Dagger form, it's treated as a Dagger and all Dagger-related feats and bonuses apply. When it's in Staff form, it's treated as a Staff Implement and all Staff-related feats and bonuses apply.

This power, as written, is unclear. No wonder you're confused.

D&D 4e has a fairly strict approach to mechanics: they rule, regardless of how much sense they make, and powers have to be fairly strictly and clearly written to indicate what part of the mechanics they effect. The transformation power here is not written to the standards D&D 4e requires, and is unclear.

"Dagger" refers to any Magic Dagger with the Weapon: Dagger line. Non-magic daggers are just simple one-handed melee weapons, and that isn't mechanically the same thing as a Dagger.

This item's power never says anything about this item gaining the Weapon: Dagger type, or what happens to the Staff (Implement) line when it transforms "from a staff into a dagger". Is it still technically a Staff (Implement), and can a Wizard still wield it? Is it now a Dagger in addition to a Staff, or instead of one? A well-written power would describe precisely what happens to the item's mechanics, and thus what weapon/implement types it gains and loses - this one doesn't, unfortunately.

1
source | link

Would you consider this staff to still be a 'staff implement'/'staff weapon' in Knife form? For example, if you have the [Staff Expertise] Feat which increases the range of weapon attack powers by 1. Would you say it still apply in Knife form?

Ouch, this is a tough one. D&D 4e has a fairly strict approach to mechanics: they rule, regardless of how much sense they make, and powers have to be fairly strictly and clearly written to indicate what part of the mechanics they effect. The transformation power here is not written to the standards D&D 4e requires, and is unclear.

"Dagger" refers to any Magic Dagger with the Weapon: Dagger line. Non-magic daggers are just "simple one-handed melee weapons", and not mechanically a Dagger.

This item's power never says anything about this item gaining the Weapon: Dagger type, or what happens to the Staff (Implement) line when it transforms "from a staff into a dagger". Is it still technically a Staff (Implement), and can a Wizard still wield it? Is it now a Dagger in addition to a staff, or instead of one? A well-written power would describe precisely what happens to the item's mechanics, and thus what weapon/implement types it gains and loses - this one doesn't, unfortunately.

This needs interpretation

Staff of Knives seems like it was designed with Sorcerers in mind. Adventurer's Vault 2 followed closely on the heels of PHB2, and at the time, Sorcerers were the only class who wielded both Daggers and Staffs. Monks didn't exist until PHB3 was released the following year.

Transforming "from a staff into a dagger" mechanically does not mean very much, but I believe it would mean this: the item loses its Implement (Staff) line, and gains a Weapon: Dagger line instead. The Sorcerer can still benefit from it in this form and use it as an implement for spellcasting. When in Dagger form, it's treated as a Dagger and all Dagger-related feats and bonuses apply. When it's in Staff form, it's treated as a Staff Implement and all Staff-related feats and bonuses apply.