2 deleted 11 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
source | link

Numenera Artifact Question How does using this artifact in combat work?

My players have acquired the following artifact in the Vortex glimmer:

level 5 artifact that fires a green neural disruption beam at long range. Those struck suffer 2 points of Intellect damage (ignores Armor) and must make an Intellect defense roll or lose their next turn, stunned. It has a depletion of 1 in 1d10.

level 5 artifact that fires a green neural disruption beam at long range. Those struck suffer 2 points of Intellect damage (ignores Armor) and must make an Intellect defense roll or lose their next turn, stunned. It has a depletion of 1 in 1d10.

One of the players is now using it and I cannot wrap my head around it. So if my player attacks with it does he have to make two rolesrolls: one intellect based attack roleroll, and one intellect roleroll for the stun? Or do I, as the GM, have to make an intellect based defense roleroll for the NPC they are attacking? If I have to make the roll, does the NPC have to make a roleroll of 15 (based on the level of the artifact) or better not to get stunned?

Thank you!

Numenera Artifact Question

My players have acquired the following artifact in the Vortex glimmer:

level 5 artifact that fires a green neural disruption beam at long range. Those struck suffer 2 points of Intellect damage (ignores Armor) and must make an Intellect defense roll or lose their next turn, stunned. It has a depletion of 1 in 1d10.

One of the players is now using it and I cannot wrap my head around it. So if my player attacks with it does he have to make two roles: one intellect based attack role and one intellect role for the stun? Or do I, as the GM, have to make an intellect based defense role for the NPC they are attacking? If I have to make the roll, does the NPC have to make a role of 15 (based on the level of the artifact) or better not to get stunned?

Thank you!

How does using this artifact in combat work?

My players have acquired the following artifact in the Vortex glimmer:

level 5 artifact that fires a green neural disruption beam at long range. Those struck suffer 2 points of Intellect damage (ignores Armor) and must make an Intellect defense roll or lose their next turn, stunned. It has a depletion of 1 in 1d10.

One of the players is now using it and I cannot wrap my head around it. So if my player attacks with it does he have to make two rolls: one intellect based attack roll, and one intellect roll for the stun? Or do I, as the GM, have to make an intellect based defense roll for the NPC they are attacking? If I have to make the roll, does the NPC have to make a roll of 15 (based on the level of the artifact) or better not to get stunned?

1
source | link

Numenera Artifact Question

My players have acquired the following artifact in the Vortex glimmer:

level 5 artifact that fires a green neural disruption beam at long range. Those struck suffer 2 points of Intellect damage (ignores Armor) and must make an Intellect defense roll or lose their next turn, stunned. It has a depletion of 1 in 1d10.

One of the players is now using it and I cannot wrap my head around it. So if my player attacks with it does he have to make two roles: one intellect based attack role and one intellect role for the stun? Or do I, as the GM, have to make an intellect based defense role for the NPC they are attacking? If I have to make the roll, does the NPC have to make a role of 15 (based on the level of the artifact) or better not to get stunned?

Thank you!