4 replaced http://rpg.stackexchange.com/ with https://rpg.stackexchange.com/
source | link

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can think of at least one questionat least one question where this community has supported the use of multiple triggered powers on the same trigger, so I think that the answer is yes, although I cannot find a specific rules reference to cite.

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can think of at least one question where this community has supported the use of multiple triggered powers on the same trigger, so I think that the answer is yes, although I cannot find a specific rules reference to cite.

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can think of at least one question where this community has supported the use of multiple triggered powers on the same trigger, so I think that the answer is yes, although I cannot find a specific rules reference to cite.

3 added 2 characters in body
source | link

Note: There is some ambiguity on when the healing surge would actually occur. The trigger in this instance is falling to 0 hp, not being hit by an attack that would reduce you to 0 hp. So, are those separate events? This is important for determining the hp value after the surge, and seems worthy of a separate question.

Note: There is some ambiguity on when the healing surge would actually occur. The trigger in this instance is falling to 0 hp, not being hit by an attack that would reduce you to hp. So, are those separate events? This is important for determining the hp value after the surge, and seems worthy of a separate question.

Note: There is some ambiguity on when the healing surge would actually occur. The trigger in this instance is falling to 0 hp, not being hit by an attack that would reduce you to 0 hp. So, are those separate events? This is important for determining the hp value after the surge, and seems worthy of a separate question.

2 added 189 characters in body
source | link

However, this requires a specific assumption, and you may have made the other one. Whichever way you go, you should be consistent in future rulings, so let's examine the issue:

An argument could be made that the healing surge will prevent the character from reaching zero hp, and that this will somehow retroactively cancel the attack's trigger. If you see things this way, then the player can simply make the attack first, and heal afterward.

Supporting EvidenceAction Types

TheseFor the rest of the answer, rules are from the 'Action Types' section of the Rules Compendium, starting on page 194.

First off, the type of each action is important. One is an immediate interrupt, the other is a free action. 

You can only take one immediate action per round, but you can take an unbounded number of free actions per turn, except in the case of free actions used to make attacks. You may only take one of these actions per turn. So, the PC can't spend the healing surge if they previously used an immediate action this round, and can't make the attack if they've previously used a free action to make an attack this turn. Additionally, you can only take immediate actions on other characters' turns, so the surge can't be spent on the PC's turn.

Timing

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can't find any guidance oncan think of at least one question where this issue incommunity has supported the rules whatsoeveruse of multiple triggered powers on the same trigger, in which case we are left with our assumptions.so I don't see any reason to think that only one action can trigger from an effectthe answer is yes, soalthough I assume that both actions are triggeredcannot find a specific rules reference to cite.

As the 'attack' effect must interrupt the 'fall unconscious' trigger to function, we treat this attack like an immediate interrupt.

  Note that the triggerwe are treating it like an immediate interrupt in both instances is dropping to zero, not being attackedterms of timing. This doesn't actually make the free action into an immediate action, so the attack has occurred and resolved. Neitherlimitation of one free action will prevent the attack, evenper round still does not apply to it.

An argument has been made that if the melee basic kills the attacker. Sohealing surge was used first, boththen it would prevent the surgecharacter from actually reaching zero hp, and therefore prevent them from using their attack take place afterpower. This could be an issue if multiple powers are triggered that could potentially invalidate their trigger, but isn't really a concern in this instance.

Here, the player can simply make their attack that ledin response to the barbarian droppingfalling to zero hit points0 hp, but both happen before the barbarian actually dropsand then heal in response to zerofalling to 0 hp.

  1. The barbarian is damaged, dropping the barbarian's hp to zero.
  2. Both of the barbarian's abilities are triggered
  3. The barbarian usesmakes a healing surgemelee basic attack
  4. The barbarian makesuses a melee basic attackhealing surge, raising their hp back above zero
  5. The barbarian remains conscious and standing

Future Rulings

 

You need to decide what to do if something like this ever happens again. As we can see from above, the key issue hereNote: There is whether multiple effects can be triggered bysome ambiguity on when the same eventhealing surge would actually occur.

If you think yes, then the barbarian could perform both actions, and you should stick with The trigger in this going forward.

If you think no, then you ruled correctlyinstance is falling to 0 hp, and you should stick with this going forward. I submitnot being hit by an attack that this will require more care and attention than if you think yes, aswould reduce you will have to remember this rulehp. So, whichare those separate events? This is an additional stepimportant for determining the hp value after noticing that these things could've been triggered. Alsothe surge, saying no is less fun than saying yesand seems worthy of a separate question.

However, this requires a specific assumption, and you may have made the other one. Whichever way you go, you should be consistent in future rulings, so let's examine the issue:

Supporting Evidence

These rules are from the 'Action Types' section of the Rules Compendium, starting on page 194.

First off, the type of each action is important. One is an immediate interrupt, the other is a free action. You can only take one immediate action per round, but you can take an unbounded number of free actions per turn, except in the case of free actions used to make attacks. You may only take one of these actions per turn. So, the PC can't spend the healing surge if they previously used an immediate action this round, and can't make the attack if they've previously used a free action to make an attack this turn. Additionally, you can only take immediate actions on other characters' turns, so the surge can't be spent on the PC's turn.

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can't find any guidance on this issue in the rules whatsoever, in which case we are left with our assumptions. I don't see any reason to think that only one action can trigger from an effect, so I assume that both actions are triggered.

As the 'attack' effect must interrupt the 'fall unconscious' trigger to function, we treat this attack like an immediate interrupt.

  Note that the trigger in both instances is dropping to zero, not being attacked, so the attack has occurred and resolved. Neither action will prevent the attack, even if the melee basic kills the attacker. So, both the surge and attack take place after the attack that led to the barbarian dropping to zero hit points, but both happen before the barbarian actually drops to zero.

  1. The barbarian is damaged, dropping the barbarian's hp to zero.
  2. Both of the barbarian's abilities are triggered
  3. The barbarian uses a healing surge
  4. The barbarian makes a melee basic attack
  5. The barbarian remains conscious and standing

Future Rulings

You need to decide what to do if something like this ever happens again. As we can see from above, the key issue here is whether multiple effects can be triggered by the same event.

If you think yes, then the barbarian could perform both actions, and you should stick with this going forward.

If you think no, then you ruled correctly, and you should stick with this going forward. I submit that this will require more care and attention than if you think yes, as you will have to remember this rule, which is an additional step after noticing that these things could've been triggered. Also, saying no is less fun than saying yes.

An argument could be made that the healing surge will prevent the character from reaching zero hp, and that this will somehow retroactively cancel the attack's trigger. If you see things this way, then the player can simply make the attack first, and heal afterward.

Action Types

For the rest of the answer, rules are from the 'Action Types' section of the Rules Compendium, starting on page 194.

First off, the type of each action is important. One is an immediate interrupt, the other is a free action. 

You can only take one immediate action per round, but you can take an unbounded number of free actions per turn, except in the case of free actions used to make attacks. You may only take one of these actions per turn. So, the PC can't spend the healing surge if they previously used an immediate action this round, and can't make the attack if they've previously used a free action to make an attack this turn. Additionally, you can only take immediate actions on other characters' turns, so the surge can't be spent on the PC's turn.

Timing

Now, the question is whether multiple triggered actions can be triggered by the same event. I can think of at least one question where this community has supported the use of multiple triggered powers on the same trigger, so I think that the answer is yes, although I cannot find a specific rules reference to cite.

As the 'attack' effect must interrupt the 'fall unconscious' trigger to function, we treat this attack like an immediate interrupt. Note that we are treating it like an immediate interrupt in terms of timing. This doesn't actually make the free action into an immediate action, so the limitation of one free action per round still does not apply to it.

An argument has been made that if the healing surge was used first, then it would prevent the character from actually reaching zero hp, and therefore prevent them from using their attack power. This could be an issue if multiple powers are triggered that could potentially invalidate their trigger, but isn't really a concern in this instance.

Here, the player can simply make their attack in response to falling to 0 hp, and then heal in response to falling to 0 hp.

  1. The barbarian is damaged, dropping the barbarian's hp to zero.
  2. Both of the barbarian's abilities are triggered
  3. The barbarian makes a melee basic attack
  4. The barbarian uses a healing surge, raising their hp back above zero
  5. The barbarian remains conscious and standing
 

Note: There is some ambiguity on when the healing surge would actually occur. The trigger in this instance is falling to 0 hp, not being hit by an attack that would reduce you to hp. So, are those separate events? This is important for determining the hp value after the surge, and seems worthy of a separate question.

1
source | link