3 replaced http://rpg.stackexchange.com/ with https://rpg.stackexchange.com/
source | link

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose any concentration spell you may have - see also thisthis question. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose any concentration spell you may have - see also this question. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose any concentration spell you may have - see also this question. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

2 added 31 characters in body
source | link

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose the spell slot (assuming you didn't want to cast fog cloud centred on yourself) and you lose any concentration spell you may have - see also this question. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose the spell slot (assuming you didn't want to cast fog cloud centred on yourself) and you lose any concentration spell you may have. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose any concentration spell you may have - see also this question. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.

1
source | link

By RAW, you have identified the saliant points yourself. Taking your questions in order:

So, does a spell such as Fog Cloud cast as a result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table require concentration?

"You cast fog cloud ..." - by default you are concentrating on a concentration spell when you cast it, so yes.

Can the PC that cast it cancel the concentration and the spell effect at will, as with a usual concentration spell?

"You can end concentration at any time (no action required)." - yes.

Upon casting, does it cancel any current concentration spells the caster has active?

"You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration." - yes.

Or does having the level of control over a Wild Magic spell where you can cancel the effect defy the point of the class?

Well ... yes and no. The wild magic surge does have a number of negative impacts; you lose the spell slot (assuming you didn't want to cast fog cloud centred on yourself) and you lose any concentration spell you may have. You can immediately stop concentrating on the fog cloud if you wish so it will not affect play. If, as a DM, you are not happy with this, you can always rule that the fog cloud lasts for the maximum duration or (if you feel really nasty) that you must keep concentrating on it for the duration or (super douper nasty) that you can't cast another concentration spell to break the concentration. Whatever you choose make sure your sorcerer player is aware of the risks of being a wild mage and can make an informed decision.