Episode #125 of the Stack Overflow podcast is here. We talk Tilde Club and mechanical keyboards. Listen now
    Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackRPG/status/58126636616400896
2 edited tags
| link
1
source | link

Can a Rogue Coup De Grace twice against a sleeping opponent in a single power?

In a recent battle my rogue was in, I knocked out a wizard with one of my favorite powers.. uh.. Knockout. The text says:

Hit:...and the target is knocked unconscious (save ends). If the unconscious target takes any damage, it is no longer unconscious.

Deciding I didn't like sleeping Wizards I then unleashed my other favorite Circling Predator:

Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage.
Effect: You can shift 1 square and must end adjacent to the target. Then make a secondary attack against it.
Secondary Attack: Dexterity vs AC
Hit: 1[W] + Dexterity modifier damage, and you gain combat advantage against the target until the end of your next turn.

The group all agreed that I would get a Coup De Grace on the first hit, for sure. What we weren't sure about is whether the second attack of the Circling Predator power allows for a second Coup De Grace. My gut instinct is no, but I was curious what the rules say about it.

Can you perform two Coup De Grace's against an unconscious opponent who wakes after taking damage, if it's with a single power?