We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
4 adjusted title to reflect question in body; fixed section link; removed unnecessary edit note and meta-commentary; edited tags
source | link

How do the Cleric and Druid spontaneous castingDruid's Spontaneous Casting interact with other classes' spells?

This is a very RAW vs. RAI question.

Basically it comes down to that whenWhen the descriptions of both classesclerics and druids discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells. They, they always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

For the Cleric:

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower.

Druid For the Druid:

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's allysummon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

So ifIf I waswere playing aan 8th level-level wizard, / 1st level-level druid, / 1st level-level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher level-level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's allysummon nature's ally spells.

Edit: Someone pointed out that I was not clear in what I was asking, which is true. So in order of importance to me.

  1. So hasHas Paizo ever confirmed that this does or does not work this way?
  2. Is this right by RAW?
  3. Should this be allowed? This is obvious with a no.

Cleric and Druid spontaneous casting

This is a very RAW vs RAI question.

Basically it comes down to that when both classes discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells. They always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

Cleric

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower.

Druid

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

So if I was playing a 8th level wizard, 1st level druid, 1st level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's ally spells.

Edit: Someone pointed out that I was not clear in what I was asking, which is true. So in order of importance to me.

  1. So has Paizo ever confirmed that this does or does not work this way?
  2. Is this right by RAW?
  3. Should this be allowed? This is obvious with a no.

How do the Cleric and Druid's Spontaneous Casting interact with other classes' spells?

This is a very RAW vs. RAI question.

When the descriptions of both clerics and druids discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells, they always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

For the Cleric:

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower

For the Druid:

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

If I were playing an 8th-level wizard / 1st-level druid / 1st-level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher-level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's ally spells.

  1. Has Paizo ever confirmed that this does or does not work this way?
  2. Is this right by RAW?
  3. Should this be allowed? This is obvious with a no.
3 added 282 characters in body
source | link

This is a very RAW vs RAI question.

Basically it comes down to that when both classes discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells. They always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

Cleric

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower.

Druid

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

So if I was playing a 8th level wizard, 1st level druid, 1st level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's ally spells.

Edit: Someone pointed out that I was not clear in what I was asking, which is true. So in order of importance to me.

  1. So has Paizo ever confirmed that this does or does not work this way?
  2. Is this right by RAW?
  3. Should this be allowed? This is obvious with a no.

This is a very RAW vs RAI question.

Basically it comes down to that when both classes discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells. They always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

Cleric

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower.

Druid

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

So if I was playing a 8th level wizard, 1st level druid, 1st level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's ally spells.

This is a very RAW vs RAI question.

Basically it comes down to that when both classes discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells. They always talk about "a" or "any" prepared slot.

Cleric

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower.

Druid

She can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any summon nature's ally spell of the same level or lower.

So if I was playing a 8th level wizard, 1st level druid, 1st level cleric, according to the wording of their class abilities I should be able to convert the higher level wizard spells into either cure or summon nature's ally spells.

Edit: Someone pointed out that I was not clear in what I was asking, which is true. So in order of importance to me.

  1. So has Paizo ever confirmed that this does or does not work this way?
  2. Is this right by RAW?
  3. Should this be allowed? This is obvious with a no.
2 edited tags
| link
1
source | link