Step 313 in The Warlock of Firetop Mountain says, in part:

He wears a suit of leather armor no better than your own, holds a wooden shield on one wrist and clutches a steel-bladed sword in his other hand. In his pockets are 8 Gold Pieces and around his neck is a silver crucifix.

You may take any two of these items you wish.

Are the gold pieces collectively one item (i.e., I could take the gold pieces and something else)? Or if I take the crucifix, does that mean I can only take 1 gold piece? I would assume the latter, but then I don't see the point of being told he has 8 gold pieces if I could never take more than two anyways.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because it may be better suited in Science Fiction & Fantasy Stack Exchange \$\endgroup\$
    – daze413
    May 20, 2017 at 2:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I've closed this question as off-topic because CYOA, Fighting Fantasy, and other gamebook-style books have been determined (twice) to be outside our site's topic. \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2017 at 2:17
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @daze413 rules about a game in SciFi.SE? I'm not really convinced they would accept it. Maybe Card and Board Games? \$\endgroup\$
    – Zachiel
    May 20, 2017 at 10:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure if we would accept this question over at B&CG.SE, but I think it is worth a shot \$\endgroup\$
    – diego
    May 22, 2017 at 0:40
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Rolled back the edit. A question about "RPGs in general" will be closed as too broad. And it's totally irrelevant to the problem you have which is about the gamebooks. \$\endgroup\$
    – mxyzplk
    May 22, 2017 at 20:37


Browse other questions tagged .