14
\$\begingroup\$

One of my player cast Dispel Magic using 3rd spell slot on my NPC Wizard who has more than one spells in effect: Foresight, Mind Blank and Contingency (none of those spells requires concentration).

Does my player need to make a spellcasting ability check against each of those spells by casting a single Dispel Magic? Or must he cast Dispel Magic for each of them one by one?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! You may want to take the tour. You have 2 really good questions here - to ensure that they both get answered properly, we prefer to have one question per post. I've edited out your second question, but I encourage you to make a new post asking it. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman May 22 '17 at 13:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ I aprreciate your help especially for correcting my grammar faults, and encouraging me to ask more questions. I think I'm gonna wear you guys down more :) \$\endgroup\$ – Gabro May 22 '17 at 14:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ You're welcome! I look forward to seeing lots more questions! \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman May 22 '17 at 14:18
16
\$\begingroup\$

Dispel Magic says the following:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell ends.

So your player can get all 3 spells with a single Dispel Magic, but he will have to make separate ability checks for each of them.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To go further, it's clear from the wording that you can choose to get just one of the three spells by targeting a "magical effect", or all three, by targeting a "creature". So, the player can choose to target just the contingency, for example, or they can target the wizard and end all spells on them. \$\endgroup\$ – anaximander May 22 '17 at 15:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @anaximander I'm not sure about that. The rule can be read as if you target a magical effect, the effect is dispelled, but if you target a creature, all spells affecting it are subject to be dispelled. It depends on the signification given to the word any. \$\endgroup\$ – Meta4ic May 22 '17 at 15:57
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm pretty sure that as worded, you could declare "I target the wizard's contingency" and specifically end that without affecting any other spells on them. \$\endgroup\$ – anaximander May 22 '17 at 15:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.