18
\$\begingroup\$

As a Warlock with the Thirsting Blade Invocation, can I replace one of the Attacks with my pact weapon with a Grapple/Shove?

The only wording difference between Thirsting Blade and Extra attack is: "with your pact weapon"

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

No, you may not replace one of the attacks with a grapple

Thirsting Blade states:

Thirsting Blade, PHB 111

You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

If you are using any other weapon other than your pact weapon, you may not attack twice. A grapple is a special melee attack which does not use a weapon, making it mutually exclusive with Thirsting Blade.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ But grapple says "If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them." And I am able to make multiple attacks with the attack action right? \$\endgroup\$ – Lichtbringer May 28 '17 at 19:08
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ @Lichtbringer You are able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action if and only if you use your pact weapon. Otherwise, you cannot make multiple attacks with the Attack action. If you are using your pact weapon to attack, you are not grappling. \$\endgroup\$ – user27327 May 28 '17 at 19:13
-3
\$\begingroup\$

The power clearly states that you can make another attack with your boon weapon. It does not say you can grapple. Also it is not am extra attack. So the Invocation is not equal to the fighters extra attack ability.

How ever if you were a 5th level Warlock and a 5th level fighter, you could attack 6 times in one turn.

\$\endgroup\$

Some of the information contained in this post requires additional references. Please edit to add citations to reliable sources that support the assertions made here. Unsourced material may be disputed or deleted.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you state the specific text for the 6 attacks? The Invocation says that whenever you use the Attack (big "A") Action you attack (small "a") twice with your pact weapon and Extra Attack states that whenever you use the Attack Action you can attack twice. The two seem mutually exclusive to me, except that the invocation forces you to use your pact weapon, whereas the Extra Attack does not. \$\endgroup\$ – Secespitus Jul 25 '17 at 11:50
-5
\$\begingroup\$

you can technically use a weapon to grapple and shove people in real life, swords and quarter staffs can be used as grappling bars for hooking, leverage and joint breaking.

So I don't see any problem with grappling or shoving, in replace of an attack as long as you shove/grapple with your pact weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ The question is asking about how specific rules/mechanics within the game interact. Unfortunately basing an answer off what's possible in real life doesn't really apply to the situation. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey May 29 '17 at 2:03
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ While I agree with you Garret (see Jackie Chan for many examples of weapon grappling), 5e requires a free hand to perform a grapple. This means the weapon is explicitly not being used to perform a grapple. \$\endgroup\$ – Lino Frank Ciaralli May 29 '17 at 12:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.