In the category "Animated Objects" on page 19, Monster's Manual says:

When not commanded, they follow the last order they received to the best of their ability, and can act independently to fulfill simple instructions

It means if the creator dies after gave an order like "Protect this door" - or something like that - the Animated Object will accomplish the command until it dies too?


1 Answer 1


Yes, it will keep on carrying out its creator's final command.

"Follow the last order they received" means exactly that.

Note that Animated Objects in the Monster Manual don't have any rules that requires their caster to be alive. Regular use of the animate objects spell, however, cannot create animated objects that stay animated after the caster dies — the spell requires concentration, and even then it normally ends after one minute.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! I know was dumb, but i wanted to be really sure! \$\endgroup\$ Jun 4, 2017 at 16:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkusBendinho Just to make sure: I wasn't intending my answer to imply anything like that. I'll reword it if you feel it's too brusque or dismissive. \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Jun 4, 2017 at 16:26
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't know, SRD on Animated Objects doesn't talk about "Animated Objects Spell" on them, it says that are crafted with "potent magic" and I think it's like a different spell. Animated Objects on the Monster's Manual can also speak or even "converse fluently or adopt a persona". \$\endgroup\$ Jun 4, 2017 at 16:35
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Your answer was not too brusque or dismissive, don't worry! \$\endgroup\$ Jun 4, 2017 at 16:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarkusBendinho I have asked a few questions where the answer made me go back to the book and ask myself "uh, why didn't I see that before?" You are in good company! :-) \$\endgroup\$ Jun 4, 2017 at 18:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .