12
\$\begingroup\$

So I'm just starting out in DND and I'm confused about what allows a character to have proficiency bonuses in spellcasting.

For example my level 1 Ranger has a +2 on shortbow attacks because he's proficient in simple weapons.

How could I get a +2 in spellcasting, by being proficient in what? Because the Wizard/Sorceror don't have a simple proficiency like "spells".

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi, and welcome to RPG.se! This site is a bit different to other sites, so please take the tour (you get a badge for doing it, too). Just so you know, the tag dungeons-and-dragons should be used to refer to the series of games as a whole, and questions more like this one should refer to a specific edition, such as dnd-5e. I've updated the tags on your question so it will be easer for people to find. Check out our help center for more information. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jun 5 '17 at 10:16
21
\$\begingroup\$

All spellcasters are proficient with spell attacks.

There is no specific proficiency for spell attacks. Instead, the general rule for spell attack rolls is:

Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus.

(PHB, p.205)

So: Any character that casts a spell that requires an attack roll is "proficient", and adds their proficiency bonus. This includes spells cast by means of a magic item, or spells cast without using spell slots from class or racial features.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The above holds true even if the spell is originated from an item or some unusual feature. All spell attacks are made with proficiency. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Jun 5 '17 at 13:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ Exactly so, which is why the answer says "Any character that casts a spell". Do you think that needs more emphasis or clarification? \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jun 5 '17 at 13:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe, probably yes. Some people only think the character has "cast a spell" if he spends a spell slot. I've had one such discussion last month at a RPG gathering. After almost an hour of heated debate, we came to the conclusion that even if the character has no spellcasting features, he still adds proficiency. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Jun 5 '17 at 13:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mindwin Done, thanks for the feedback! Let me know if it needs more work. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jun 5 '17 at 13:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Marq You should point out that if you don't have a spellcasting ability you do not get the spellcasting ability modifier (you always get the proficiency bonus) see DMG p.141 \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jun 5 '17 at 22:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.