If a 6th level Sorcerer with Elemental Affinity (lightning) casts Witch Bolt, is only the inital bolt's damage is increased, or the damage of every one of them?

Elemental Affinity:

[...] when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage.

Witch Bolt:

[...] on each of your turns for the duration, you can use your action to deal 1d12 lightning damage to the target automatically.


2 Answers 2


Only Once

Elemental Affinity adds damage "when you cast a spell..."

The damage of witch bolt that can be applied on subsequent turns is not "casting a spell" but instead taking a special action granted to you by the witch bolt spell. Since you're not casting a spell, the additional damage from Elemental Affinity will not apply.


Yes, only to when you first cast the spell.

Per The Player's Handbook Errata,

Elemental Affinity (p. 102). The damage bonus applies to one damage roll of a spell, not multiple rolls.

Old Answer

Since you're not casting a spell to automatically deal the damage, Elemental Affinity only applies for the initial damage.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .