18
\$\begingroup\$

If a creature had resistance to spells, and then cast fire resistance on it, would it take only 1/4 damage from all fire spells?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

37
\$\begingroup\$

Nope, they don't stack.

Per the rules on damage resistance and vulnerability (PHB, p. 197):

Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. For example, if a creature has resistance to fire damage as well as resistance to all nonmagical damage, the damage of nonmagical fire is reduced by half against the creature, not reduced by three-quarters.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .