If a 6th level Sorcerer with Elemental Affinity (fire) casts Green-Flame Blade, is only the first target's damage increased, or both?

Elemental Affinity:

[...] when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your Charisma modifier to that damage.

Green-Flame Blade:

[...] the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting modifier.
[..a]t 5th level, the melee attack deals an extra 1d8 fire damage to the target, and the fire damage to the second creature increases to 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier.

up vote 5 down vote accepted

You can only add your Charisma modifier once: "when you cast a spell ... add your Charisma modifier ...". However, you can choose (before rolling damage) if the primary or secondary target suffers the extra damage. A kind DM (like me) may even let you split the extra damage as you desire.

Naturally, Elemental Affinity is more effective on area of effect spells (Burning Hands, Fireball etc.) where even though the extra damage is added only once it can affect multiple creatures.

Either, but not both.

Per The Player's Handbook Errata,

Elemental Affinity (p. 102). The damage bonus applies to one damage roll of a spell, not multiple rolls.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.