3
\$\begingroup\$

So in RAW, having a creature between the attacker and a target grants the target half cover, but I'm a grappler that likes to shove down my victims while grappling. Do I still get the cover bonus for having a creature between us if he's prone in RAW? I'm worried that my DM will overrule because it doesn't make physical sense if he's prone to also provide cover.

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

A creature might provide cover. A prone creature probably won't.

Here are the rules for half cover:

A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. A target has half cover if an obstacle blocks at least half of its body. The obstacle might be a low wall, a large piece of furniture, a narrow tree trunk, or a creature, whether that creature is an enemy or a friend.

(Emphasis mine, PHB, p. 196).

So the rules as written aren't that a creature between the attacker and target always grants half cover; it's that such a creature can grant half cover.

A prone creature probably doesn't block at least half of a standing character's body, and so it wouldn't provide half cover. Similarly, a standing halfling doesn't provide cover for a half-orc standing behind it.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.