7
\$\begingroup\$

The spell legendary proportions says that it can only target creatures. What, exactly, counts as a creature? Are PCs creatures? Are all living things creatures? Or are creatures only nonsentient things like horses?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Anything that has a Wisdom and Charisma score is a creature. Anything that lacks them is an object.

That means not only any living being, but also a bunch of non-living ones; Undead are creatures, as are Constructs and Elementals.

So yes, you can use such spells on players, other humanoids, animals, etc. The spell specifically calls out that it doesn't work on Undead though; which shows that Undead are normally also considered creatures, just this spell won't work on them.

(Note that a lot of spells target creatures, many of which you'd expect to be able to use on just about anything. Magic Missile for example also targets creatures, you would not expect it to only work on animals, right?)


Quoting from the SRD on abilities:

Under Wisdom:

Every creature has a Wisdom score.

Under Charisma:

Every creature has a Charisma score.

In the notes for both:

Regular plants, such as one finds growing in gardens and fields, lack Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; even though plants are alive, they are objects, not creatures.

It's spelled out even more literally in the D&D 3.5e SRD on Wisdom (& the same for Charisma):

Any creature that can perceive its environment in any fashion has at least 1 point of Wisdom. Anything with no Wisdom score is an object, not a creature. Anything without a Wisdom score also has no Charisma score.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Anything that lacks them is an object" -> do you have rule support for that? Anyway in practice it seems to be the case. \$\endgroup\$ – Anne Aunyme Jun 13 '17 at 11:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would also like something that specifies that Wisdom and Charisma are what make a 'creature'. Is there an object that is provided with Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, and Intelligence stats? By this reasoning, Intelligent items are creatures... is that also true? \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Jun 13 '17 at 12:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AnneAunyme I have added references to the SRD for it. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Jun 13 '17 at 13:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso indeed according to these rules an intelligent item would be a creature. (If it has cha/wis, but most do) \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Jun 13 '17 at 13:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso The 3.5 revision failed to update intelligent items so as to make them more creatureish, so in Pathfinder intelligent items remain in this terrible place between being like creatures but not really, really creatures—for instance, intelligent items have no feats, skill ranks, or a base attack bonus (unless through item powers). Also, an inverse isn't always true: anything with no Wisdom score is an object and not a creature, but anything with a Wisdom score is not therefore necessarily a creature and not an object! (I know! How terrible is that, huh?) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 13 '17 at 13:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.