8
\$\begingroup\$

If I drink a potion of growth, and a wizard casts enlarge/reduce on me, do they add together as separate effects to give me 2 size increases, or do they simply override each other and give me the better duration?

Asking for purposes of grappling gargantuan creatures as a huge player.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Note to voters: the player is huge... you might want to vote the way he wants. =) \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jun 14 '17 at 1:44
19
\$\begingroup\$

No. They don't.

The potion of growth states:

When you drink this potion, you gain the "enlarge" effect of the enlarge/reduce spell for 1d4 hours (no concentration required).

If a Wizard casts enlarge/reduce on you, then you will now be experiencing the same magical effect twice, simultaneously It would be no different if two Wizards had cast the same spell on you at the same time.

Since the same game effects don't overlap, the potion of growth does not interact with the enlarge/reduce spell.

DMG Errata.

Combining Game Effects (p. 252) [...] "Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them -- the most potent one -- apply while the durations of the effects overlap. [...] Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items."

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ While the DMG says "same name" that's not really correct. Magic items often don't match the relevant spells yet they're really the same effect. If the magic item has all the same parameters as the spell then figure it probably is the spell unless you have evidence otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ – Loren Pechtel Jun 14 '17 at 4:29
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @LorenPechtel Are you agreeing or disagreeing with this answer? \$\endgroup\$ – user27327 Jun 14 '17 at 4:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @LorenPechtel Do you have any evidence (published rules, Sage Advice material, commentary from the designers) that supports your assertion? \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jun 14 '17 at 8:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Regarding that DMG Errata: it specifies Fire Form in the example, and I can understand two Fire Form damages don't stack. However, does Fire Form and Flaming Sphere not stack as well as they're game features of burning? I think it's relevant, as Potion of Growth is obviously a different name than the spell Enlarge/Reduce, unless it's the game feature of Enlarge that counts. I'm of the idea that if you have to describe the effect relating it to a game mechanic then it counts, but I'd like to know if I'm off base with that and the question seemed too closely related to this to post on its own \$\endgroup\$ – Tyler Mackey May 27 at 23:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.