The special ability reflective spell resistance of the nerra says

A nerra has a special type of spell resistance that causes any targeted spell it successfully resists to bounce off and reflect back at the caster. The caster becomes either the spell’s target or the point of origin for the spell’s effect, as appropriate. In addition, nerras are immune to gaze attacks, and such an effect is reflected back to its origin. (Fiend Folio 127)

If a caster casts the spell vampiric touch and hits a nerra but the caster fails to overcome the nerra's reflective spell resistance, what happens? Who gains temporary hp and who loses hp?

Note: Looking for answers; tagged only because the Fiend Folio is originally for that edition.


1 Answer 1


The caster loses the HP...

Vampiric Touch

...Target: Living creature touched...

...Spell Resistance: Yes

...Your touch deals 1d6 points of damage per two caster levels (maximum 10d6). You gain temporary hit points equal to the damage you deal. However, you can’t gain more than the subject’s current hit points +10, which is enough to kill the subject. The temporary hit points disappear 1 hour later.

You, the caster, lose the HP and gain them as temporary HP that disappear 1 hour later. If the damage is enough to kill you, you have 1 hour to gain enough real, rather than temporary, HP back before you risk dying.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Do temporary HP alone permit you to be conscious? Can you provide a citation to confirm that receiving temporary HP while below 0 HP makes you conscious? \$\endgroup\$ Jun 16, 2017 at 18:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Pyrotechnical Since they're hp—albeit temporary—it would take rules saying Temporary hp don't restore consciousness to make it so temporary hp don't restore consciousness. For instance, the RC on temporary hp (72) mentions no difference between the effects of gaining actual as opposed to temporary hp when unconsciousness is involved, so a typical creature that gains temporary hp when at or below -1 hp regains consciousness normally. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 16, 2017 at 18:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I might be attaching 5e limits to 3.5. But I was under the impression that temps being described as 'similar' to normal hit points. As I don't have a PHB or anything available right now, I can't confirm, but this in itself may be worth a question on it's own. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 16, 2017 at 18:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Pyrotechnical Maybe? I dunno how temporary hp work in 5e, but, yeah, temporary hp in 3.5e are like regular hp except for the differences put forth in the link; nothing else changes. But don't let my stance stop you from posing the question! :-) \$\endgroup\$ Jun 16, 2017 at 18:57
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ "It resolves just as if you were touching yourself." \$\endgroup\$
    – fectin
    Jun 16, 2017 at 21:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .