7
\$\begingroup\$

Since I have levels in Bard, can I copy (for example) mass cure wounds (a level 5 bard spell that isn't also a wizard spell) from a bard scroll into my spell book?

Could I do this idea with 3 levels in Cleric instead of in Bard?

\$\endgroup\$
1
27
\$\begingroup\$

No; you can only copy wizard spells into your spellbook

The "Your Spellbook" sidebar states the following about copying spells into your spellbook (emphasis mine):

When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.

This passage disallows copying spells outside those available to a wizard into the spellbook, regardless of what other classes you've taken levels in.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

No. The wizard spell book is an item made to contain only wizard spells, and due to the fact that mass cure wounds is not, indeed, a wizard spell, it couldn't reasonably be copied into a wizard spellbook. The same could be said for any other non-wizard spell.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Mark, and welcome to RPG.SE. Check out the tour to see how we work here. This answer would benefit from citations so that we can take what it's asserting in confidence. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jun 17 '17 at 18:05
-4
\$\begingroup\$

Actually you could copy mass cure wounds because as a wizard / bard all the spells YOU know become both wizard and bard spells to YOU.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you back up this claim with a reference to the rules? Otherwise it's going to be downvoted. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Dec 14 '20 at 6:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Especially since a level 14 Wizard / level 3 Bard cannot know mass cure wounds since they don't have the Bard level for it. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Dec 14 '20 at 6:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. All answers must be supported by evidence/experience; please edit your answer to support it by citing the relevant rules/evidence. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 14 '20 at 10:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ (...Though that may be hard to do, since I'm pretty sure the rules don't say anything of the sort. In fact, the multiclass spellcasting rules say exactly the opposite: "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. [...] Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell.") \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 14 '20 at 10:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.