5
\$\begingroup\$

Is it possible for a creature to succeed on a Use Magic Device skill check to emulate a class feature so as to enable the creature to employ a runestaff to cast spells not on the creature's spell list?

For example, can a duskblade succeed on a Use Magic Device skill check so as to use a runestaff to cast the spell displacement?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Use Magic Device has a specific list of things you're allowed to emulate, one of which is "Emulate a Class Feature". If you wish to use the runestaff in a way your class doesn't allow, you can instead emulate the spellcasting ability of a different class.

The "Use A Wand" ability specifically allows you to use spell trigger items, not just wands. It has the same DC as "Emulate a Class Feature".

Whether you need two checks (to use a spell trigger item from a spell list you don't have with a spell that's not in the runestaff) or just one is a matter of DM discretion.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This is correct, but it may be worth noting how unlikely this was to be intended, seeing how difficult WotC made off-list spellcasting in general. (Then again, maybe they didn’t, since Extra Spell arguably works from other lists.) \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jun 19 '17 at 20:35
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Is this a good place to bring up Lidda and the magic chalice? (To summarize, the rules tacitly allow by example any creature that succeeds on a Use Magic Device skill check to emulate the appropriate class feature to activate a runestaff, whether or not she can cast spells at all—see PH 86. Most DMs disagree, however.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 19 '17 at 22:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is interesting, with this method its possible to surpass some limitations from duskblade and hexblade and make then more versatile with more protection, battlefield control and scouting spells. \$\endgroup\$ – Victor Jun 20 '17 at 14:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ As a side comment, psionics specifically allow for off-list acquisition via certain methods (usually the Expanded Knowledge feat), so perhaps that could be taken as RAI regarding the general concept of off-list acquisitions. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Jun 20 '17 at 19:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.