I have a quick question on opportunity attacks because I'm either blind or just can't find explanation in the PHB. If multiple PCs are within melee range of an NPC running away, do they each get an opportunity attack?

For example: an NPC is in melee range of two PCs and tries to run away on his turn. PC 1 makes an opportunity attack on the NPC. Does PC 2 get a chance to make an opportunity attack too, or can the NPC no longer be attacked?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi @Masoli, and welcome to the site! When you get a moment, take the tour and browse through other dnd-5e questions--there's a lot of good ones here. I will note that you've accepted my answer pretty quickly. Please know that if another answer comes along later that you feel explains or answers your question better, you have the ability to un-accept mine and accept that one. In any case, happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jun 21 '17 at 21:33

Each PC refers to the Opportunity Attack rules.

You [PC] can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature you can see moves out of your reach. (PHB p.195, "Melee Attacks," at "Opportunity Attacks.")

So, each of your PCs who have not used up their reaction and who can see the fleeing NPC get to make the decision: "shall I OA or not?"

| improve this answer | |
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Just to note: ANY creature, PC or not, may use their reaction to make an attack of opportunity on another creature who moves out of their range, i.e. this is not a PC only ability. The NPC's can do it to a PC who runs away just as well. \$\endgroup\$ – Protonflux Jun 22 '17 at 9:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.