12
\$\begingroup\$

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads:

Green Lord’s Gift

Prerequisite: The Archfey patron

The Green Lord oversees a verdant realm of everlasting summer. Your soul is linked to his power. Whenever you regain hit points, you treat any dice rolled to determine the hit points you regain as having rolled their maximum value.

If I take this invocation, does it only benefit healing from resting and potions, or would healing spells also be maximized? For example, my Warlock is multi-classing as a Cleric, so I have healing word. If I cast healing word on myself, would the roll effectively be (4 x spell level) + modifier?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note for future readers: Green Lord's Gift ended up being published in Xanathar's as a Pact of the Chain-only invocation (all patron prerequisites were removed) titled "Gift of the Ever-Living Ones". \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 6 '19 at 4:46
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Using the 5E rule of specific over general, Green Lord's Gift does not call out specific ways of regaining hit points. The general case is "any". It doesn't hurt that Green Lord's Gift uses the word "any", either.


Green Lord's Gift was published as Gift of the Ever-Living Ones in Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 57. The prerequisites have changed, but the effect is the same:

Prerequisite: Pact of the Chain feature

Whenever you regain hit points while your familiar is within 100 feet of you, treat any dice rolled to determine the hit points you regain as having rolled their maximum value for you.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would this Maximize Vampiric Touch because Vampiric touch "heals" you? \$\endgroup\$ – Voromir Kadien Dec 31 '17 at 23:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @VoromirKadien No, because Vampiric Touch doesn't have a roll for healing, it has a roll for damage. The healing has a mathematical relationship to the damage dealt, but it is not rolled. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Jul 18 '18 at 19:05
13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

This works with healing spells. It doesn't say it doesn't, so it does. Healing spells used on you (whether you cast them or not) may cause you to regain a variable quantity of hitpoints, and this ability maximizes the roll involved in that hitpoint gain.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.