11
\$\begingroup\$

Does casting blindness on a Medusa (or other gaze using creature) stop their gaze attack?

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, a blind Medusa cannot use its petrifying gaze.

The petrifying gaze of the Medusa says:

When a creature that can see the medusa's eyes starts its turn within 30 feet of the Medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw if the medusa isn't incapacitated and can see the creature.

Same for basilisks. While their petrifying gaze is a bit different, they also have to see the target creature.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jun 29 '17 at 9:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.