13
\$\begingroup\$

I'm planning on playing as a merfolk in a future Pathfinder campaign. Since merfolk only have a land speed of 5 feet, can a merfolk take a 5-foot step so as to avoid attacks of opportunity even though that's a merfolk's maximum movement?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

18
\$\begingroup\$

No

Looking at the 5-foot step entry in the PRD answers this:

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

So no, they cannot.

\$\endgroup\$
3

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .