Do the objects animated by the Animate Objects spell make opportunity attacks?

While I believe animated objects are certainly capable of opportunity attacks, the wording "If you command an object to attack, it can make a single melee attack against a creature within 5 feet of it" makes me wonder whether additional opportunity attacks are also implicit with this command.

  • \$\begingroup\$ One nice thing to learn is how to issue effective commands to them. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Jun 29 '17 at 3:55

Yes, they can.

From the spell:

If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete.

If you order your animated objects to "Kill those orcs", they will do everything they can to accomplish the task until it is complete without you expending another action (bonus or otherwise) to do it. This would include making Opportunity Attacks, because they are creatures, there is no text that says they don't have a reaction, and an OA is triggered by the target moving out of a creatures reach.

On the other hand, if you only command them to "Attack this particular orc, this round", they would perform that task and then wait for further instructions, possibly retaliating if attacked.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.