I know Warforged are Unearthed Arcana races, and considered in play testing and/or incomplete, but based off of the information available to Warforged, would you consider a Warforged to be wearing natural armor; furthermore, would said natural armor prohibit the ability to wear other additional armor on top of the +1 AC bonus trait or would you be able to wear extra protection?
The warforged were made as the ideal soldiers to serve in the devastating Last War. Although they are constructs, they have much in common with living creatures, including emotions and social bonds, and perhaps even souls.
As a warforged, you have the following racial traits.
Ability Score Increase. Your Strength and Constitution scores increase by 1.
Size. Warforged are generally broader and heavier than humans. Your size is Medium.
Speed. Your base walking speed is 30 feet.
Composite Plating. Your construction incorporates wood and metal, granting you a +1 bonus to Armor Class.
Living Construct. Even though you were constructed, you are a living creature. You are immune to disease. You do not need to eat or breathe, but you can ingest food and drink if you wish. Instead of sleeping, you enter an inactive state for 4 hours each day. You do not dream in this state; you are fully aware of your surroundings and notice approaching enemies and other events as normal.
Languages. You can speak, read, and write Common and one other language of your choice.
One last question is, would the Warforged be considered to be unarmored? Seeing as this is merely a trait, I wouldn't assume it to mean that a Warforged cannot wear armor, unless it gets the unarmored bonus, or natural armor bonus. If it is considered to be unarmored, would unarmored abilities such as the Barbarian's, Druid's, or Monk's abilities work in addition to this +1 AC?
Seeing as the Warforged is sacrificing an Ability Score increase in place of this bonus to AC, I wouldn't say that none of these abilities are applicable, in fact, I believe a Warforged would function just as a normal PC only with +1 AC.
I've read in the rules that Armor Class bonuses always stack with the current AC, but the rest of my group seems to have ruled that a Warforged cannot wear armor. I'm just looking for some thoughts on this matter.