11
\$\begingroup\$

If the mystic abilities are explicitly said to not be spells can you RAW use them while raging?

Mystics: Psionics is a special form of magic use, distinct from spellcasting.

Barbarian: If you are able to cast Spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging.

Latest version of mystic: https://media.wizards.com/2017/dnd/downloads/UAMystic3.pdf

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Given this passage on page 9 under Duration: Concentration first sentence of the second paragraph.

Concentrating on a discipline follows the same rules as concentrating on a spell.

I would rule, that you cannot concentrate on a discipline while raging.

But aside from that, disciplines are strictly no spells, so RAW you are able to use them while in rage. (Unless the Discipline says 'you cast some spell'.)

Rules as Intended:

Mike Mearls mentioned in a tweet, that it shouldn't be possible:

@Spiritmaster111: @mikemearls Also, can a Mystic/Barbarian multiclass use disciplines while raging? Rage only mentions casting and concentrating on spells.

@mikemearls: @Spiritmaster111 should also apply to psionics - thanks for pointing that out

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that RAW interpretations are kind of pointless at this point in time (2017-07) because the material is still in Beta. Right now it's all kind of "rules as proposed" :) \$\endgroup\$ – Gates VP Jul 3 '17 at 6:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.