3
\$\begingroup\$

So I learned that spellstrike can be used with a held charge for use of abilities like spring attack. So you can cast shocking grasp one round and then use spring attack and expend the shocking grasp spell the next.

What i wanted to know is does the spell elemental touch work on the same principal?

This is the spell here.

Upon completing the casting of this spell, elemental energy infuses your hands.

Choose an energy type: acid, cold, electricity, or fire. You gain a melee touch attack causing 1d6 points of damage of that energy type, along with a special effect described below. You also deal energy damage and the related special effect when you attack with your hands using an unarmed strike, a single claw, or a single slam attack. This bonus damage can never apply to multiple weapons.

  • Acid: Your touch attack causes 1 point of ongoing acid
    damage per round for 1 round per three caster levels. The target
    must make a Fortitude save or be sickened for the duration of the ongoing acid damage.

  • Cold: The target must make a Fortitude save or be fatigued. A creature that is already fatigued suffers no additional effect.

  • Electricity: The target must make a Fortitude save or be staggered for 1 round.

  • Fire: Your hands ignite and shed light as a torch. Your touch may cause targets to catch on fire.

    Subsequent attacks inflict the normal damage, but the additional effects do not stack. This spell grants no special protection to anything held in or worn on your hands. When you cast this spell to deal acid, cold, electricity, or fire damage, it is a spell of that type.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

No, self-targeting spells cannot be used with Spellstrike.

The magus's Spellstrike ability enables them to cast touch-range spells through their weapon.

At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack.

There are several magus arcana options available that expand what you can do with Spellstrike, but none of them enable you to cast spells with a range of self.

Although Elemental Touch does give you a touch attack, the spell itself is not a touch-range spell. It has a range of "personal", and the target is "you". There is no charge to hold. On subsequent rounds while Elemental Touch is active, you use can make the touch attack provided by the spell, however this attack is not the same as casting the spell.

Therefore it is not usable with Spellstrike.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.