4
\$\begingroup\$

The eldritch invocation Shroud of Shadow from the UA: Revised Class Options reads as follows:

You can cast invisibility at will, without expending a spell slot.

Similar abilities such as a wizard's spell mastery specify that the caster can only cast the at-will spells at their lowest spell level:

You can cast those [at will] spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot when you have them prepared.

Shroud of Shadow has no such clause. So can this invisibility spell be cast at a higher level?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Shroud of Shadows is an eldritch invocation in the Revised Class Options Unearthed Arcana. \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Rose Jul 3 '17 at 23:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Cool. I made a few edits if you want to take a look. \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Rose Jul 3 '17 at 23:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I know you're right about spells, they're not actually capitalized, but I actually think Eldritch Invocations are capitalized and not italicized because they're class features. They're at least capitalized when Crawford mentions them in a Tweet: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/610957214849835008 \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Rose Jul 4 '17 at 0:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Let us continue this discussion in chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Rose Jul 4 '17 at 0:58
10
\$\begingroup\$

Spells cast without a spell slot are cast at their lowest level. And no, you can't cast it at a higher level because to do so would require you to expend a higher level spell slot.

From page 12 of the Sage Advice Compendium:

What level is a spell if you cast it without a spell slot?
Such a spell is cast at its lowest possible level, which is the level that appears near the top of its description. Unless you have a special ability that says otherwise, the only way to increase the level of a spell is to expend a higher-level spell slot when you cast it

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ thanks for the info in the sage advice compendium. i looked at their website and searched for something that could tell me but couldn't find any hits. didnt think to look in the compendium. \$\endgroup\$ – rebullet00 Jul 4 '17 at 17:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ As ne being new to Warlocks, this was extremely helpful. \$\endgroup\$ – Matthew Perryman Jul 5 '17 at 14:36

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.