Call Lightning says that you pick a point for lightning to strike, and each creature "within 5 feet of that point" are affected by the strike. What does that mean?

I'm tempted to read it as only affecting a single 5-foot square, but the wording suggest that it is intended to be an AOE attack (unless it's accounting for the very rare occasion of two creatures sharing a space).

So, when using a standard grid, does the caster pick a square, and then all adjacent squares are affected? If so, why not say it affects a 15-foot cube centered on the target-point? (I guess the spell effect section doesn't describe square areas, just cube areas).

Similarly, does Arms of Hadar affect 10 squares from the caster in every direction? (so, ultimately a 50-foot square area)

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Arms of Hadar affects targets within 10 feet of the caster. Distances in 5e are always specified in feet (or miles), never 'squares'. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jul 7 '17 at 10:13

It means 5 foot radius.

  • You pick a point (If you're using a grid, that would be a grid intersection)
  • All creatures within 5 feet (ie, squares surrounding the grid intersection) are affected.

If it only affected a 5-foot square, that would be a 5-foot diameter (or 2.5 foot radius).

If you are not using a grid, the DMG (pg 251) has:

Sphere, circle, cilinder: # creatures affected = radius / 1.5 (round up)

So for a 5 foot radius, this means 4 creatures and it matches the grid pattern too:

What is a radius on a square grid?

  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ You might want to add the DMG's definition of "point of origin", found in page 251: "Choose an intersection of squares or hexes as the point of origin of an area of effect" \$\endgroup\$ – daze413 Jul 7 '17 at 1:29
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Upvote. Learned something new today. \$\endgroup\$ – Jesse Cassino Jul 7 '17 at 1:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Ah, interesting. That was one interpretation my players came up with but I didn't like it because I thought picking a grid intersection was a wonky non-conventional reading. (We didn't argue it too much, since going for two enemies with the broader area of effect would have fried one of the PC's). I had no idea the DMG specifically said that. \$\endgroup\$ – Max Antinone Jul 7 '17 at 6:01

I also read it as a 15 cube using a grid table, since you could target an empty square, and everyone in a 15 foot cube creating the border of that 5 foot square would be within 5 feet.

Arms of Hadar: 10 foot radius. So thats two squares out from your square, which at best is 25x25 foot square. Some DMs enforce literal distance using a protractor, so the four corner squares might not count.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Nit: A protractor measures angles, not distances. Maybe you meant a compass? \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jul 7 '17 at 10:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.