As stated in the description for Thorn Whip, the caster makes a "melee spell attack" against the target.

You create a long, vine-like whip covered in thorns that lashes out at your command toward a creature in range. Make a melee spell attack against the target. (PHB, pg 282)

Given that the Mobile Feat only requires a melee attack to be made to avoid provoking attacks of opportunity, without specifying the type of melee, would that cantrip fulfill the trigger for mobile?

When you make a melee attack against a creature, you don’t provoke opportunity attacks from that creature for the rest of the turn, whether you hit or not. (PHB, pg 168)

Short version: Is a spell melee attack capable of being treated as a plain melee attack?

  • \$\begingroup\$ @Arcemius There is no utility in repeating what an existing answer says in a comment. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 10 '17 at 6:24


Besides seeming obvious, Jeremy Crawford also answered a question about this in regard to Cleric's Touch of Death.

A melee spell attack is, indeed, a melee attack

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.