When a champion fighter, with "Two Weapon Fighting" fighting style and the "Dual Wielder" feat, picks up "Dueling" for his 2nd fighting style... Is he able to make use of the +2 to damage rolls with a single weapon for the first hit and only draws the 2nd weapon later to deal the 2nd hit in his extra attacks (in order to trigger the requirement for twf) to deliver another attack in his bonus action?



The key point is in the description of two-weapon fighting:

Two-Weapon Fighting (PHB Pg. 195)

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand.

Question is, when you take the Attack action, is there a weapon in your other hand? If there is, you can't get the benefit of Dueling. If there is not, you can't make an off-hand attack.

(Note the present tense "that you're holding in the other hand", not "that you will be holding later in the turn" or "that you were holding earlier".)

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ But for the first attack, there is only one weapon the champion's hand. It's only prior to the 2nd extra attack, the 2nd weapon is drawn on the other hand, thus fulfilling TWF's requirement to trigger a bonus action to strike. So it's like this: 1st attack (dueling +2 to damage roll), 2nd attack (draws 2nd weapon on other hand, damages without a +2), attack on bonus action (TWF style) \$\endgroup\$ – Clement Kure Ong Jul 10 '17 at 7:26
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Clement: Taking the Attack Action is not the same as attacking. You Take the action and then Attack twice (with extra attack) \$\endgroup\$ – Patta Jul 10 '17 at 7:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Patta thanks for clarifying, I think i understand what Paul is trying to drive at now. \$\endgroup\$ – Clement Kure Ong Jul 10 '17 at 8:01
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, the key thing is that the option to make a bonus action attack is granted when taking an Attack action with a light weapon in the other hand. If the other hand is empty when the Attack action is made, there is no option to take a bonus action to make another attack. \$\endgroup\$ – Paul Hutton Jul 10 '17 at 8:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.