10
\$\begingroup\$

I know that wands can hold spells of 4th level or lower.

My question is, are only spells listed on page 246 of the DMG able to be placed in wands? Or can you craft a wand with any spell 4th level or lower?

My concern comes in with spells like Power Word Pain, in a wand.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If it broadly states spells of 4th level or lower, and Power Word Pain is a level 1 spell, then why wouldn't it work? \$\endgroup\$ – B. S. Morganstein Jul 11 '17 at 15:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @B.S.Morganstein To be fair, 3.5 is definitely an edition that sometimes hides important caveats or qualifications in unexpected places. Just because something in one place seems to allow things doesn’t necessarily mean there isn’t some limitation somewhere else. Sadly. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jul 11 '17 at 15:33
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @B.S.Morganstein I, too, can imagine a DM's objections to a wand of power word pain specifically but instead because of the difficulty of visualizing such wand's effect: The wand's user takes wand in hand, points the wand at the target, utters the wand's command word Urgonnabeinaworlduv, and then… the wand says Pain at the creature? That is weird (albeit not that much weirder than D&D 3.5 magic items are normally). \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jul 11 '17 at 15:42
15
\$\begingroup\$

In order to craft wands, you need the Craft Wand feat, which says:

You can create a wand of any 4th-level or lower spell that you know.

So anyone who can craft wands, can craft wands of any 4th-level or lower spell they know.

That would include power word: pain. However, note that all item-creation rules are explicitly guidelines, and your DM may nix particular options. Scrolls, wands, and similar are usually fine, but power word: pain is a significantly overpowered spell, so it might be one of the few that a DM should object to.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ New house rule, for every wand casting of power word pain by a player, the DM can throw a book at them? ^^ \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Jul 14 '17 at 4:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.