The daylight spell is cast on an object, but what happens to the spell if the object is destroyed? Does the spell dissipate because its target no longer exists, or do the pieces of the destroyed object continue to glow for the duration of the spell?

| improve this question | | | | |
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean that the object has the broken condition? Is it instead destroyed, or are you looking for what happens with either condition? \$\endgroup\$ – Chemus Jul 14 '17 at 6:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm wondering what happens if it's actually destroyed - i.e., the object is reduced to 0 HP, or someone makes a Str check against the Break DC. \$\endgroup\$ – Ben S. Jul 14 '17 at 22:48

Daylight depends on having one discrete object to 'hold' onto. This interacts a little oddly with items being broken or destroyed, so lets' take a look.

In the vast generality of cases, items that are broken are still identifiable as the original object and can still 'hold' a spell though they may be missing pieces. The key part of this is that the item could still be put back together through mundane or magical means. Therefore, if you cast Daylight on my shield and a blind orc somehow sunders it (which makes the item broken), the spell will hang around on the item as long as everything is still together, IE if my shield is still a shield.

Of course, this doesn't hold up as well if that same shield has Disintegrate cast on it. A destroyed object isn't identifiable as the original object and any spells on the object dissipate. The important thing to note here is that you're looking at something that has been utterly taken out of its form. Another good example is if my shield were to be tossed into lava. The spell will last as long as the shield is still a discrete object. But the instant that thing loses its form and melts down, the spell ends.

| improve this answer | | | | |
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ RE: "A destroyed object isn't identifiable as the original object and any spells on the object dissipate." Can you cite this? (I've never seen this rule, and it's what prevented me from taking a crack at the question. That is, so far as I'm aware, destroyed is only defined by implication by specific spells and effects rather than generally, and—for comparison—spells on a creature continue affecting the creature until the spells' durations expire after the creature's death and, in the case of an undead or construct, presumably, its destruction.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jul 14 '17 at 15:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I will have to look when i'm not screwing around at work. From what I understand, being 'destroyed' is based on usage of the mend spell. If you can mend it, you keep daylight. \$\endgroup\$ – Adam Wells Jul 14 '17 at 15:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Citations would be handy. \$\endgroup\$ – Chemus Jul 15 '17 at 4:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.