6
\$\begingroup\$

Since action economy is concurrent, I have an interesting issue.

I'm running a Bard 4/Sorc 3, and I have one 4th level spell slot. However my metamagic sorcery points only allow me to have up to 3 stored.

In order to maximize the effectiveness of my spell slot usage, when I'm at 0 sorcery points, I want to use the bonus action to burn the 4th level spell slot. This gives me 4 points back, however since I'm a Sorcerer level 3 I can't have 4 points banked.

So in order to not waste the 4th point when I burn that spell slot, I want to use it in the same turn by casting an Empowered spell. If I do this, and since actions are concurrent, I'll have used 1 point, and have 3 left over, which is fine because I can have up to 3 stored.

When answering, please consider that officially you can use a reaction during your action to counter a counter-spell with your own counter-spell and not interrupt your initial action. This demonstrates that the action economy is concurrent in 5e, removing any "stack" discussion from the equation.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk says reinstate Monica Jul 15 '17 at 0:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ Bonus actions are not reactions \$\endgroup\$ – András Jul 15 '17 at 12:02
24
\$\begingroup\$

The sorcery point limit always applies.

The scenario proposed in the question doesn't work; you never have an "extra" point to spend.

The rule for sorcery points is straightforward:

You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level.

If you are a third-level sorcerer, and you have zero sorcery points, when you use a bonus action to convert a 4th-level spell to sorcery points, you have three sorcery points. 'Never' means never; the rule doesn't say "at the end of your turn" or anything like that; it simply says 'never'. You therefore can't "float" the extra point to simultaneously use for metamagic; in order to do that, you would need to have that sorcery point, and by the rule cited above, you can't have that point along with three other points.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Might wish to explicitly include something about the non-concurrency of burning a spell slot as a bonus action and casting an empowered spell as a separate action, which seems to be of interest here \$\endgroup\$ – Conduit Jul 14 '17 at 18:04
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I considered it, but I don't think it's relevant — the simple fact that 'never' means 'never' seems sufficient. Even if burning a slot and casting a spell were concurrent, the sorcerer still never has four sorcery points. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jul 14 '17 at 18:08
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Ah - so regardless of concurrency the limit applies. Good ruling - simple and removes any possibility of timing exploits. +1 \$\endgroup\$ – Conduit Jul 14 '17 at 18:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.