Phantasmal Force can be used to place a delusion inside a creature's head for the duration. I understand that the spell is worded very openly to encourage creative usage, but I'm not sure about how I should be ruling it case-by-case. I understand the purpose of most other illusion spells, but I just can't seem to get my head around certain aspects of this particular one.
The phantasm includes sound, temperature, and other stimuli, also evident only to the creature. (PHB pg.264)
Does this mean you could use the illusion to impart status effects on creatures? For example, would you blind the creature by putting a bag over his head that it wouldn't be able to remove? Would you be able to deafen a creature with an extremely loud auditory illusion? I'm assuming restraining the creature with illusory chains wouldn't work, considering it would probably struggle to escape only to find that it's not actually physically being detained, but I'm sure there is something you could add to the illusion to try and prevent them from escaping or moving.
Question: Can Phantasmal Force apply conditions (Blinded, Deafened, Restrained etc.), and if so which ones would it be able to?
It seems to me that the spell shouldn't be able to place conditions on creatures, but that would only be because of how strong and flexible this might make it relative to other spells if it's level. Is this how it is intended? I don't want to accidentally gimp the spell by ruling it too harshly, but it seems difficult to me to consistently judge it fairly.