5
\$\begingroup\$

If a Cleric that cast Warding Bond is in the Aura of an Ancients Paladin, does he take half damage from Warding Bond?

Aura of Warding:

You and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you have resistance to damage from spells.

Warding Bond:

Also, each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Rules as Intended: No

Jeremy Crawford has clarified:

Q: Is warding bond the source of its generated damage instance? If so what damage type is it? Is it still spell damage? thanks

A: When you take damage via warding bond, you're taking damage from whatever caused damage to the target of warding bond.

So, according to Jeremy's clarification, the damage you receive from warding bond is considered the same source as what damaged the ward. Thus, the only time aura of warding would work on it is if that original damage was caused by a spell.

As always, it is up to the DM to decide how much designer clarifications and intent means at their table.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

Because Warding Bond is a spell, Aura of Warding would make you resistant to it's effects.

"This spell wards a willing creature you touch and creates a mystic connection between you and the target until the spell ends."

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.