8
\$\begingroup\$

PHB states "An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions." (emphasis mine)

Suppose I am fighting a creature that has a multiattack, and I have an ability that can incapacitate a creature as a reaction. If the creature has completed the first attack in its multiattack, could I prevent the remainder of its attacks with my ability? Or is it too late, since the remaining attacks aren't actions?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Marq, user17995, daze413, Thomas Jacobs, Erik Jul 19 '17 at 8:06

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ A Readied action to cast Tasha's Hideous Laughter is one example of this. \$\endgroup\$ – user27327 Jul 19 '17 at 2:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ That issue being marked as duplicate discusses the stunned condition. The answers refer to things such as being unable to move or speak. Simply being incapacitated without being stunned may have different repercussions. \$\endgroup\$ – Xavier Lebec Jul 20 '17 at 1:33
3
\$\begingroup\$

"Taking an action" is not a point in time thing (necessarily), it is a duration. The Dash action is being taken throughout your movement, the Readied action is being taken from the point of declaration through to the trigger (or your next turn), the Dodge action is being taken from this turn to your next turn.

Therefore, if you become "unable to take actions" your ongoing action just stops, from this point forward, you can't take it anymore.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Got some backup for that? Something in the books that shows what you're describing? \$\endgroup\$ – Chemus Jul 19 '17 at 3:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Chemus you mean other than that the normal way of following any procedure is to execute the steps in the order they are given? \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jul 19 '17 at 8:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Even if that's not explicitly stated anywhere in the rules, I'd say it's a valid interpretation of the phrase "take [an] action," which is how I've always seen the phrase written in the rules. Works for me. \$\endgroup\$ – Xavier Lebec Jul 20 '17 at 1:30

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.