1
\$\begingroup\$

The Universal Monster Rule Gaze indicates:

A creature with a gaze attack can actively gaze as an attack action by choosing a target within range.

Being an 'attack action' (not a Standard Action), can this be used with a creature's Natural Attacks as part of a Full Attack?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, the attack action and an attack are different things.

From the combat rules:

Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action.

This means that directing the Gaze ability is a standard action. And that such creature could effectively attempt to affect a target with their gaze twice in a single round, as illustrated on this answer from 3.5 regarding gaze attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good reference. I'm going to see if there's a contending answer before accepting. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Jul 20 '17 at 2:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.