8
\$\begingroup\$

I am trying to get into DwarfStar Games -- Barbarian Prince, and am trying to understand the movement rules from the Rule book

For my daily action (r203) I can move to another hex (r204).

r204 states

Getting Lost (see r205): each time you try to leave a hex, you may get lost. See r205 for details. If you get lost, you are unable to get out of the hex by the chosen route, and are stuck for the rest of the day in the hex where you started. You cannot select an alternate action.

r205 states (emphasis added):

Each time you attempt to leave a hex (travel to a new hex) there is a danger of becoming lost. Consult the Travel Table (r207) and find the terrain type you are leaving.
Read across to the "Lost" column entry. Roll two dice. If the dice total equals or exceeds the number there, your party is lost.

If you get lost, you cannot further that day. You are stuck in the hex you tried to leave. You must check for a travel event (see r205b) in the hex you tried to enter, as if you actually entered it.

My confusion is:

Should the "(see r205b)" at the end of that last quote instead read "(see r204b)"?

  • Should I perform the Lost AND the Event, or
  • Should I perform the Lost OR the Event?

Example from the Travel Sheet

If I am leaving the CountrySide and I roll a 9+ I perform the Lost action (by not moving), and I perform the Event Action. Example: if I roll a 1 I follow rule r232 and then end the day.

The reason I am confused is I did not see this correction in the Errata

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would it be worth adding the 'solo' tag to the question? It may get you more answerers. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 22, 2017 at 22:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ I did it was taken off. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mike
    Jul 23, 2017 at 0:42

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

Given that r204b is the Travel Event paragraph, and r205b is the Self-Guiding Moves paragraph, it's pretty safe to call this a typo in the rules. I could see it not being documented in the "official errata", if "official errata" means a correction that was made to the original publication of these rules in the 80s.

The rules language of "you must" is better interpreted as AND than OR. You make a check to avoid becoming lost, AND if it fails, you remain in your current hex and check for a travel event in your intended destination.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Haven't played this game, but from reading the rules listed in the question it sounds like you do a travel event for the hex you tried to enter, not your current; even though you are remaining in your current due to getting lost. \$\endgroup\$
    – Lunin
    Oct 30, 2017 at 22:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ Whoops! Yeah, got a wire crossed there. Will edit. \$\endgroup\$
    – Glazius
    Oct 31, 2017 at 16:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .