3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm currently in a homebrew campaign and the DM has stated he doesn't mind my character using a circlet (what would essentially be her crown since she's a royal type) but it has to have some sort of symbolism. I read that an arcane focus could be a crystal so could I just have her still have her crown but the crystal as the focus and be embedded?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as primarily opinion-based by user17995, user27327, Tim Grant, mxyzplk Jul 24 '17 at 1:25

Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ What do you mean by "using a circlet"? Using to do what? \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Jul 23 '17 at 22:35
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, but...

The character will need to hold the circlet in their hand when using it as a focus. From the section on Material Components in Chapter 10 of the PHB:

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components - or to hold a spellcasting focus - but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

The exception to this rule would be a holy symbol, which a cleric can have displayed on a shield, for example.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You can of course hold the circlet in your hand without taking it off your head \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jul 23 '17 at 22:52
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ True, but then she would probably have to perform the somatic components with her other hand. \$\endgroup\$ – Orvir Jul 23 '17 at 22:55
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Not at all, the rules say you must hold it in your hand and can use that hand for the somatic components- there is no restriction on where you can hold your hand \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Jul 23 '17 at 23:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Somatic components are described as "forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures" and that "free use of at least one hand" is required to perform them. If the circlet/focus is on the head and the caster grabs it without removing to cast, that is not free use of the hand. \$\endgroup\$ – Orvir Jul 24 '17 at 4:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Orvir You can perform the somatic components with a free right hand while holding the material components/spellcasting focus in the left hand. \$\endgroup\$ – Johnathan Gross Jul 25 '17 at 4:12

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.