14
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a 5e D&D 7th level cleric and my DM is questioning my way of throwing fireball.

For example I'm playing on a grid and two enemies are standing adjacent to me. One enemy is in the square in front of me and the other is in the square diagonal to me and the first enemy, so I cast fireball about 25 feet in front of me, just far enough to hit the two enemies but not me. The fireball isn't hitting a hard surface, it's hitting air.

Is that possible?

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

The description of Fireball on D&D Beyond clearly says to choose a point within range. It makes no requirement for hitting a hard surface - it makes no requirement at all, other than picking a point.

The spellcasting section says:

To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.

So... You can absolutely pick a point that's just far enough away to avoid singing the caster's eyebrows, but completely envelops adjacent enemies. You could not pick a point beyond something like a wall (because that's total cover), but can otherwise start it where you please.

When playing on a grid, the DMG (p 251) says you have to pick an intersection of gridlines for your targeting point. It should not have any particular effect on placing your spell in this situation. If you could aim it to meet your goal off a grid, you should be able to do the same on a grid.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does my cleric know where to throw a fireball? He cant count the distance in feet and cast fireball there in one round. For me, the player, is easy to count the distance, but is it for my character ? \$\endgroup\$ – Spellcaster Sep 18 '17 at 18:55
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The default game rules work the I've described. If there were any doubt about the spell landing exactly where the caster wants it, there would be a roll involved in the casting - some spells have an ranged spell attack roll, fireball does not. If your DM wishes to add additional rules to spell targeting, that's his prerogative, but he's making things more difficult than they were designed to be. The fundamental assumption is that characters are competent. If the DM wishes to make them feel less competent, he can... but I wouldn't play his game. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Sep 18 '17 at 19:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.