6
\$\begingroup\$

Assume two 1st level Rogues, Alice and Beatrice.

Alice gained 3 levels of Rogue and on her 4th level of Rogue, instead of an ability score increase she picked up the Martial Adept feat. She later gained 3 levels in Fighter, and chose the Battle Master archetype.

Beatrice gained 3 levels of Fighter, and chose the Battle Master archetype. She then gained 4 levels of Rogue, and instead of an ability score increase she picked up the Martial Adept feat.

Alice and Beatrice each now total four Rogue levels and three Fighter levels, obtained via different paths. Is the superiority dice gained from the Martial Adept the same dice for both Alice and Beatrice?

(The text above was posted as an example in another question that was closed as too broad. After talking to a moderator, it was decided the best thing would be to post the example as a separate question.)

The Martial Adept feat says:

[...] If you already have superiority dice, you gain one more; otherwise, you have one superiority die, which is a d6. [...]

The already have implies that you need to have superiority dice when you acquire the feat, otherwise it is a d6. Beatrice is safe. RAW, she already has superiority dice when she gets the feat.

Is Alice stuck with a d6 superiority die for the rest of her career?

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

This was errata'd in 2016 to read...

Martial Adept (p. 168). The superiority die is added to any others you have, no matter when you gain them.

It was pretty black-and-white (or black-and-yellow, in the case of our color scheme here) - the order didn't matter.


Unfortunately, in the 2018 errata (which they stealth-swapped the file at the 2016 link), they've changed the text again. It's once again ambiguous because they removed the "no matter when you gain them" bit.

Martial Adept (p. 168). The first sentence of the second benefit has been changed to “You gain one superiority die, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source).”

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ My eyes might play tricks on me, but I don't see the citation you provided in errata. This is everything it has under Martial Adept: The first sentence of the second benefith has been changed to "You gain one superiority die which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have from another source)." But it doesn't clarify, if it is still d6 or >=d8. \$\endgroup\$ – AntiDrondert Dec 28 '18 at 12:28
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AntiDrondert It seems they eratta'd the errata... and stealth swapped the file. The link points to a 2016 URL path, but the file is now 2018 for the 10th printing. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Dec 28 '18 at 13:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, for some reason the 2018 errata article originally pointed to 2016 URLs, meaning the original 2016 errata got replaced. They eventually fixed the links there, but the original 2016 errata doesn't seem to have been put back up. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 29 '18 at 0:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ The new wording doesn't seem to be ambiguous. "you gain d6 superiority hit die, which is a d6." It does not scale. It is similar to how you can gain different kind of hit dice when you multiclass. \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix Dec 29 '18 at 4:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've done some digging, and it looks like the 2015 post-errata phrasing of the feat is identical to the current phrasing. I think people were just misinterpreting how the 2015-2017 errata previously paraphrased the change (or perhaps it's misleadingly paraphrased), and now the 2018 errata PDF quotes the exact wording of the change instead so it's unambiguous what it says. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 27 at 9:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.