12
\$\begingroup\$

I'm running the Out of the Abyss campaign for my players, and I've hit an edge case for the Sorcerer with Quickened Spell metamagic. The character has a Spell Gem (from Out of the Abyss: you stuff a spell into it, and then spend an action later to have the Gem cast the spell at the Gem's level and save DC).

Can a sorcerer cast two leveled spells in a turn, if they use both Quickened Spell and a Spell Gem? Does this generalize to a sorcerer casting two spells in a turn as long as one of them is from activating an item?

(I GM by having a small number of hard/deadly encounters rather than a larger number of smaller encounters – because it makes each encounter have significant stakes, and because Out of the Abyss doesn't restrict resting terribly much in the first half of the campaign. So if the sorcerer can go nova with two leveled spells per round for 2-3 rounds, that does a lot of damage without really restricting his ability to cast spells at the next encounter.)

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

You can't cast a levelled spell from it if you already cast a bonus action spell

Spell Gem:

While holding the gem, you can cast the spell from it as an action if you know the spell or if the spell is on your class's spell list.

It does not use your spell DC, but you are still the caster.

Generally

It would depend on the wording, but all items I have seen so far makes you clearly the caster.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

If you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 bonus action then:

You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

Note the prohibition only applies if you use your bonus action to cast a spell. If you only use actions (noting there are ways to get more than one e.g. The Fighter's Action Surge) or reactions (unlikely but you could dive off a cliff to use Feather Fall or provoke an Opportunity Attack and use Shield) then as many of those as you can cast can be of any level.

However, if you use a spell with a casting time of 1 bonus action you can only cast 1 cantrip (even if the bonus action spell is itself a cantrip or not) no matter how many actions/reactions you have.

The Sorcerer's Quickened Spell metamagic changes the casting time of a 1 action spell to 1 bonus action, triggering the limitation.

The gem requires that "you cast the spell" - a lot of magic items are explicit that it is you who are casting - and so the limitation applies even if this is the source.

\$\endgroup\$
-4
\$\begingroup\$

They shouldn't be able to. If the Sorcerer is using the gem, and it counts as an action, then they would only have a bonus action left on their turn. Vice versa should apply to all of their known spells. The only case in which they could use both, if the gem use counted as a bonus or free action.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ The Sorcerer is using Quickened Metamagic to cast spells as a bonus action. \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Jul 30 '17 at 8:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ There are ways of having more than one action. The sorcerer also has their reaction. \$\endgroup\$
    – Dale M
    Jul 30 '17 at 10:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.