10
\$\begingroup\$

Divine smite is a supernatural ability but at the same time it consumes spell spell slots on use. Is there any specification on this matter? If it is considered a supernatural ability then silence/anti magic fields do not affect it. On the other hand, if it is considered a spell a paladin cannot use misty step and smite at the same time.

Thank you in advance

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

No

Mechanically speaking, a Divine Smite is a Paladin class ability. Meanwhile, a spell is anything listed in PHB pages 207-211, which shows the spell list for all classes. So even though Divine Smites use spell slots, they are not spells.

Not all spells consume spell slots

From PHB 201:

Some characters and monsters have special abilities that let them cast spells without using spell slots.

Therefore, spells and spell slots do not have to be tied together, though they usually are. Spells can be cast without spell slots. Just because something consumes a spell slot doesn't mean it has to be a spell.

Antimagic Field does affect it

While a Divine Smite is not a spell, it is magical. "Magical things" is a larger set that contains all spells.

Antimagic Field specifies:

Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can’t protrude into it.

It specifically states:

Targeted Effects. Spells and other magical effects, such as magic missile and charm person, that target a creature or an object in the sphere have no effect on that target.

As Divine Smite is a magical effect, it is nullified in an Antimagic Field.

It does work in an area of silence

Divine Smite is not a spell and requires no verbal spell components. All it requires is you hit with a weapon and you expend a spell slot.

Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. So, a paladin can use smite while in antimagic field, right? \$\endgroup\$ – Commissar Vasili Karlovic Jul 30 '17 at 15:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @CommissarVasiliKarlovic I've updated the answer, and no, they cannot use a smite inside an antimagic field. They can in an area of silence, though. \$\endgroup\$ – user27327 Jul 30 '17 at 15:47
  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ RAW, there's nothing in the rules that identifies Divine Smite as magical. Sage Advice addresses the topic of what's magical and what isn't (see "Is the breath weapon of a dragon magical?") and Divine Smite doesn't fit any of the criteria. It's probably intended to be magical since it uses spell slots, but it'd be good to edit the answer to be less definitive about that. \$\endgroup\$ – Doval Jul 30 '17 at 16:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ In addition, Divine Smite cannot be counterspelled. \$\endgroup\$ – Greenstone Walker Jul 31 '17 at 1:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ It does radiant damage, FWIW. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jul 31 '17 at 2:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.