12
\$\begingroup\$

I am trying to build a singly-classed Fighter with ready access to a bonus damage on hit spell like Hex or Hunter's Mark, but I'm not seeing many options for that combination.

While Eldritch Knight gives access to Wizard spells, Wizards don't have access to either Hex or Hunter's Mark. Nor does Magic Initiate (which would be easy to pick up with the Fighter's ASI progression) allow a purloined Hex to be cast with Eldritch Knight spell slots — at least per my reading of the feat and this answer here, it's once per long rest regardless of whether or not you have spell slots.

Is there some other way for an Eldritch Knight to learn some sort of damage boosting concentration spell along with their other spells?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

The feat says that you learn the spell:

You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again. [PHB 168]

I wish that the text explicitly said that it could be cast without a slot once per day as a level 1 spell (in addition to casting it with a slot), which I think is the intent.

Jeremy Crawford seems to back this up as the RAI even if the RAW is a bit clumsy. So based on this, I'd say grab Hex and have fun.

Note that the 2 cantrips you pick up should therefore be based on Charisma (since you got the spells from Warlock), so pick up cantrips that don't need a modifer with these 2 (although Eldritch Blast might be hard to pass up if you have a decent Charisma).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ And I think that the OP did not have all of the facts. Note the Sage Advice tweet from Jeremy Crawford which is authoritative and backs up my position that it should work for him. \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Brown Jul 31 '17 at 18:03
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ An answer elsewhere on this site disagrees: rpg.stackexchange.com/a/68481/35093 If that answer is outdated, or otherwise incorrect, I'd love for this to be the answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Sable Dreamer Jul 31 '17 at 18:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not trying to get into an argument, but I have to defend my source. Official rulings on how to interpret unclear rules are made in Sage Advice. The public statements of the D&D team, or anyone else at Wizards of the Coast, are not official rulings; they are advice. One exception: the game’s rules manager, Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford), can make official rulings and usually does so in Sage Advice and on Twitter. \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Brown Jul 31 '17 at 18:06
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Two contradictory rulings weakens the strength of both, because it begs the question "Was he wrong before or is he wrong now?" It is probably also worth noting that the official WoTC organized play group (Adventurers League) explicitly declines to give weight to Sage Advice or Twitter postings - only "printed" errata counts in AL play. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Jul 31 '17 at 19:15
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Here's another series of tweets. The underlying argument appears to be (thus making both rulings consistent) is that the Wizard spell casting feature says you can prepare WIZARD spells, whereas Eldritch Knight KNOWS Wizard spells, but can cast any spell they KNOW. (It serves to follow then, if they KNOW spells from another source, say, Magic Initiate, they can cast those as Eldritch Knight spells) \$\endgroup\$ – Sable Dreamer Jul 31 '17 at 19:20
12
\$\begingroup\$

There is a spell like that on the wizard list, bestow curse, with which you can choose the option that:

While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra ld8 necrotic damage to the target. (PHB 218)

However, it is a 3rd level necromancy spell, so you have to be 14th level to learn it. Also it takes an action to cast, is touch range and there is a save against it. Compared to hex/hunter's mark or other 3rd level spells, it might be a little weak, even if at that point you attack 3 times in a turn.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Un-ideal, as you say, but still possible. Doubly confounding since it isn't an Abjuration / Evocation spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Sable Dreamer Jul 31 '17 at 15:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.